Facebook Changed Their Terms of Service

Facebook’s terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you closed an account on their network, any rights they claimed to the original content you uploaded would expire. Not anymore. Now, anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later. Want to close your account? Good for you, but Facebook still has the right to do whatever it wants with your old content. They can even sublicense it if they want.”

Tags: ,

One Response to “Facebook Changed Their Terms of Service”

  1. CezainValsol Says:

    Hey, there’s this one, too.

    http://ca.news.yahoo.com/s/capress/090218/technology/technology_facebook_sharing

    I also find it interesting that before that when I tried to delete my Facebook account, I could not actually, technically speaking, DELETE it. There are several sites like that, and I’ve found they almost never tell you that’s the case.

    It’s good to see they’re apparently trying to make positive changes, but the fact that it seems only to be in response to outrage is very unsettling. Almost enough to make me delete my account…oh right. Can’t do that. :P